

NORTH YORKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the County Council held at County Hall, Northallerton on 23 January 2007.

PRESENT:-

County Councillor Mrs Margaret Hulme in the Chair.

County Councillors Michelle Andrew, Val Arnold, Arthur Barker, Keith Barnes, Philip M Barrett, William F Barton OBE, Bernard Bateman MBE, David L Billing, John Blackburn, John Blackie, Eric Broadbent, Rob Broadley, Peter G Brown, Elizabeth Casling, Gordon Charlton, Geoffrey Cullern, Gareth Dadd, Mrs M A de Courcey-Bayley, John E Fletcher, John Fort BEM, Heather Garnett, Roger N Harrison-Topham, David Heather, Michael Heseltine, Robert Heseltine, Bill Hoult, Gillian Ivey, Michael S Knaggs, Andrew Lee, Carl Les, Morris Lightfoot, David Lloyd-Williams, Brian Marshall, J W Marshall, Shelagh Marshall, Chris Metcalfe, Leslie Parkes, Stuart Parsons, Caroline Patmore, Christopher Pearson, Paul Richardson, John Savage, Caroline Seymour, Steve Shaw-Wright, Brian Simpson, Martin Smith, Jim Snowball, Peter Sowray, Melva Steckles, Timothy Swales, Helen G Swiers, Herbert Tindall, Cliff Trotter, John Watson OBE, John Weighell, Greg White, Andrew Williams, Clare L Wood and John Wren.

Bobby Cooper, Lay Preacher, led the Council in prayers.

MINUTES

RESOLVED -

109. That the minutes of the Meeting of the County Council, held on 20 December, 2006 having been printed and circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

PUBLIC QUESTIONS OR STATEMENTS

There were no statements or questions from members of the public.

RESPONSE TO THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT WHITE PAPER

The following Members declared personal but not prejudicial interests in this item, as Members of the District Councils specified below:-

County Councillor District Council

Val Arnold Ryedale District Council Hambleton District Council Arthur Barker Philip Barrett Craven District Council David Billing Scarborough Borough Council John Blackburn Scarborough Borough Council John Blackie Richmondshire District Council Eric Broadbent Scarborough Borough Council Rob Broadley Scarborough Borough Council Peter Brown Hambleton District Council Elizabeth Casling Selby District Council Scarborough Borough Council Geoffrey Cullern

Mrs M A de Courcey-Bayley

Harrogate Borough Council John Fletcher Hambleton District Council **David Heather** Craven District Council

Michael Heseltine Richmondshire District Council

Robert Heseltine Craven District Council Bill Hoult Harrogate Borough Council Margaret Hulme Selby District Council Selby District Council Gillian Ivey Carl Les Hambleton District Council Morris Lightfoot Harrogate Borough Council

Brian Marshall Selby District Council Chris Metcalfe

Selby District Council Stuart Parsons Richmondshire District Council

Christopher Pearson Selby District Council Caroline Seymour Hambleton District Council Steve Shaw-Wright Selby District Council

Brian Simpson Scarborough Borough Council Martin Smith Scarborough Borough Council Peter Sowray Hambleton District Council Tim Swales Hambleton District Council Herbert Tindall Scarborough Borough Council

Cliff Trotter Harrogate Borough Council John Weighell Hambleton District Council **Andrew Williams** Harrogate Borough Council John Wren Harrogate Borough Council

It was moved and seconded "That the Council debate this matter in Committee."

The Council divided and it was RESOLVED -

That the Council debate this matter in Committee. 110.

The recommendations in the report (Page 3107) having been moved and seconded, the Council divided and, on a division by name, there were:-

For the motion	Against the motion	Abstentions
County Councillors:-	County Councillors:-	County Councillor
Michelle Andrew Val Arnold Philip Barrett Bill Barton OBE Bernard Bateman MBE David Billing John Blackburn John Blackie Eric Broadbent Rob Broadley Peter Brown Elizabeth Casling Geoffrey Cullern John Fort BEM Heather Garnett Roger Harrison-Topham Michael Heseltine Robert Heseltine Robert Heseltine Gillian Ivey Michael S Knaggs Carl Les Brian Marshall Shelagh Marshall Chris Metcalfe Stuart Parsons Caroline Patmore Christopher Pearson Paul Richardson John Savage Brian Simpson Martin Smith Jim Snowball Peter Sowray Melva Steckles Timothy Swales Helen Swiers Cliff Trotter John Watson OBE John Weighell Greg White	Arthur Barker Keith Barnes Gordon Charlton Gareth Dadd Mrs M A De Courcey-Bayley John Fletcher David Heather Bill Hoult Morris Lightfoot David Lloyd-Williams J W Marshall Lesley Parkes Caroline Seymour Steve Shaw-Wright Herbert Tindall Andrew Williams	Andrew Lee
Clare L Wood (4	2) (16)	(1)

And the motion was declared carried.

RESOLVED:-

- **111.** (a) That a proposal for a single unitary council for North Yorkshire be submitted to the Government;
 - (b) That the draft document attached to the report and the principles and proposals set out in it, be approved as the basis of that submission; and
 - (c) That the Chief Executive be delegated authority to modify, complete and finalise the text and submit the document to meet the Government deadline of 25 January 2007.